IBS 100 Reviews 2010 & 2011

December 31, 2011 From Jerrol from Wilton, NY on HelpForIBS:

IBS hypnotherapy 100 I have had IBS for 40 years. It had been dormant for several years, then a reaction to new construction products and chemicals in our new house created a major thyroid problem for 4 years that had a symptoms similar to IBS with diarrhea. I had 1/2 my thyroid removed last year but the fear that the symptoms left combined with 40 years of IBS led me to negative thinking. I am so grateful for this hypnotherapy program. I am on day 15 and already see changes. I truly believe my life is changing and that I am getting the life I am supposed to have.

  December 29, 2011 Private Email From Steve B.:

Dear Marilyn, It's been a long time since I was in contact with you back in June but I really wanted to take the opportunity to say thank you. When I wrote to you, I was trying to decide whether to buy the CD or see a Michael Mahoney-trained hypnotherapist. In the end, I decided to get the CD. It was a decision I am so pleased to have made! I finished the listening sessions about a month ago and I feel so much better than I have done in a long while! I can be a bit superstitious so I don't want to jinx things but my IBS seems so much better. In fact, sometimes I wonder if I still suffer from it. I actually feel normal again! I don't really know what else to say except thank you - to you for your initial help and also to Michael for the programme he created for people like me. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Wishing you a very happy 2012. I would be happy for you to use my comments...Again, my sincerest thanks and best wishes. With best regards, Steve

December 22, 2011 From Robie from Newport, RI on HelpForIBS:

Excellent Part of the program that makes this therapy work. I look forward to 1/2 hour of peace every day. Gentle, ...technique that works for me...

December 21, 2011 From Jean from Ashland, Oregon on HelpForIBS:

Fabulous! I'm two weeks into the program and already I'm feeling better and so much more relaxed. I look forward to each evening's session and have been telling other folks about it. Thank you so much for telling me about these wonderful CDs!

December 19, 2011 From Erika from Herreid, South Dakota on HelpForIBS:

So far everything is working well. It is going to take time and there are going to be bumps in the road, but there are less and less bumps.

December 16, 2011 From Carol from Bellingham, Washington on HelpForIBS:

I'm only on day 7 of this 100-day program, but I'm very impressed so far. Check with me in a couple of months and I'll be able to tell you more.

November 16, 2011 From Iwillovercome:

 ...The first improvements I began to see came a few weeks into listening to the Audio 100 program. I am now on my second round and am seeing even MORE improvements!...

November 3, 2011 From Toady in Ontario, Canada – IBSGroup.org:

:...Also have you ever tried the hypno? I used the 100 day program 3 times through and found it helped more than just my IBS. I slept better and felt better overall...

November 3, 2011 Further Update from KareBear in Arizona:

I totally recommend the hypnotherapy program as well. Michael is amazing! It went beyond helping me with my IBS symptoms and truly helped my anxiety as well. I deal with everything a lot differently now. I actually just feel calmer, which is fabulous. However, there is the occasion when I feel like I am going over the edge and I wish I could have Michael whispering in my ear right then, but I just go back and mentally focus on the lessons I learned from the CDs, which does help. One other thing I have found in trying to get out of my own head which can be a death trap as you know is music. ... It makes the stress of do I have ... seem like no big deal. I think some times our subconscious stores up these little annoyances and as soon as something big hits it is too much for our brains to handle. I stopped taking anxiety medicine several months back before I started the hypnotherapy and I feel so much better without it. I hope maybe my little trick will help you too. Just try to zone out. Also, a hot bath before bed and no tv or computer. Don't stimulate your brain too much before trying to fall asleep. Definitely get the CDs though Michael's voice will lull you to sleep:)

 October 2011 - Amazing Update from Diana Antholis on HelpForIBS:

Heather, I found my emails to you from 1 year ago and wow have things changed since then! I completed the hypnotherapy 100 day plan by Michael Mahoney and I honestly can say I'm 90% cured. I follow the IBS diet, make a few recipes from your book, and take the Acacia Tummy Fiber every morning and sometimes back it up with Citrucel and Peppermint Oil Capsules if needed throughout the day. I can even eat some trigger foods in moderation with no problems at all!I don't know what I would do without you and that hypnotherapy program - you have both seriously changed my life. Thank you again, Diana Antholis

September 26, 2011 From KareBear in Arizona:

I am very excited to say that last night was my 100th day using Michael's hypnotherapy program. It is amazing and I would recommend to anyone to use it. I don't necessarily know how or why it works, I just know that it does. Don't get me wrong though, it is hard. In the beginning I really didn't think it was doing anything and my frustration was overwhelming. However, I was encouraged to keep going and try to put IBS out of my mind. So I did and before I knew it I was feeling better. I can honestly say I see a difference in how I handle stress in every area of my life thanks to this program. I am officially 37 days with no IBS issues. I can't tell you how many years it has been since I can say that. The combination of the hypnotherapy, change in diet, the probiotics and peppermint capsules have truly gave me peace of mind again. I know my battle is far from over, but I can genuinely say that I feel better. Still a lot to work on but going in with the knowledge that I can do it. Thanks to all who supported me during the frustrating times.

 September 21, 2011 From rhonalomey (age 70+) on IBS Group:

I dont know how I would have survived without hypnosis, it has improved my symptoms by 95%, I am really having a quality of life I never thought possible.

September 13, 2011 Private Email from Elly in Florida:

We just got back from a five week trek to Switzerland and then to NY. TELL MICHAEL THAT I AM WELL WITH NO SYMTOMS OF IBS FOR OVER A YEAR AND A HALF...

September 2011:  Message to Marilyn from Peoria:

I just wanted to say thank you for your support. I read what you write to other people and I take it as my own. You are so amazing to be so active in helping people here. Because of you, I am finally going to try the self hypnosis, as I think the brain-gut connection is where my issues lie. Anyway, I just wanted to praise you for being such a caring person, and I hope you know you help far more people than just those whom you actively support.

September 3, 2011 From Cassandra Elvish:

I too did the program 3 times - it took over a year with the recommended breaks in between sessions. I'm feeling better than I had in YEARS! :)

August 23, 2011 From MH20 in Overland Park, Kansas:

IBS Audio Program 100 - No longer need this audio program because it helped me get better. I'm not cured but I'd say probably 75% better. This product is amazing and I recommend it to anyone with IBS issues.

August 11, 2011 From Private Email from Dan D.:

"I have had severe gastroparesis (stomach motility issues) and a hypersensitive gut for 3 years now. My symptoms include primarily retching and heaving with no vomiting for hours on end all day long, everyday. Aside from homeopathy and a whole lot of ginger, the thing that has helped me most is the IBS Audio Program by Mike Mahoney."

August 3, 2011 From stressedinpdx from Portland, Oregon, on Amazon.com 5.0 out of 5 stars:

 It works! This review is from: IBS Audio Program 100 for Irritable Bowel Syndrome Self-Hypnosis I have struggled with IBS for over 30 years now. I am a classic cycler (diarrhea/constipation). My trigger is primarily stress. I tried other things including medications and nothing really helped. Then I did this about 10 years ago. It was wonderful. I would say my IBS was about 75% better. A change in diet and exercise about 5 years ago almost took me to 100% better (similar changes in past were not good enough). I'm starting to have problems again and so therefore am about to start this program again. It is easy to do, can't hurt you (like some drugs or supplements) and is effective for me. It's so good that I am willing to repurchase if I can't find all the CDs at home!

July 31, 2011 From LifeGoesOn in Salt Lake City on IBS Group:

 I just wanted to give an update on this program because I know how scary it can be to try something new. I made it through the whole 100 days and finished in the beginning of July. Although I still suffer with IBS, I would consider this to be the most beneficial treatment I have had so far. The difference now is that I have control. I will feel myself getting sick/anxious but I can now breathe and relax my body through things so that I can actually be a functional person. I still get sick, but it seems less frequent. I think I will do another round later this year (need a break from the daily commitment) and I might even possibly consider seeing an in-person hypnotherapist because it seems to be something that really helps me to relax and deal with things.

  July 31, 2011 FIVE Star Rating From Cheryl on Amazon.com Review:

I have been battling IBS for most of my life (since I was 12) and nothing has put it in check until I listened to this (IBS Audio Program) hypnosis series. I had read about it years ago and was very skeptical as to how hypnosis could help my life long problem. I mean I was seeing the best GI specialists, taking the best medications, eating everything "right" but still having horrible issues. These tapes work! I am still amazed and very glad I decided to stop thinking this was nonsense and gave it a try. I believe it's worth every penny! And on another support board: I am very happy with the hypnosis series. I have been part of this group since 2003, although I have had a lot of great advice, I still struggled with my IBS. I reluctantly decided to try the hypnosis series and am amazed. I am finished with the series. I had one major attack while using the tapes, 3 episodes that did not turn into anything (I used the techniques from the tape) and have been doing very well since I finished. The support via e-mail is fantastic. I would definitely recommend trying this! I have suffered with IBS since I was 12 and I'm very happy I decided to swallow my pride and take this step. I feel set free! I do still follow a very strict IBS-D diet, don't get me wrong. I don't feel that these tapes give you free reign to eat whatever you want, but it did give me a new freedom I haven't had in a very long time! Cheryl

Note from Healthy Audio: Some folks continue to remain on IBS diets, while the vast majority of others are able to break free from restrictive diets ~ read on!

  July 2011 Additional Update from Gerikat:

As a person who has completed the hypnosis by Michael Mahoney, not once but three times, all I can tell you is it works!... I was one of those people that never knew which food would set me off and when. One time I could eat it, the next time I couldn't. There was no rhyme nor reason to any of it. I could rip my diet apart, control every morsel I put into my mouth, stress my self every day of my life about my diet, and again, it did not work. I felt like I was putting all this time and energy into my diet, denying myself good food and fun times, stressing so much, and for what?...I was still at square one. The day I decided ENOUGH, was the day I got well. I bought the hypnosis tapes, and completed them three times over about a year and a half, started meditation, did some soul-searching, journaled, and took a real good look at my life. I stopped worrying about how every little thing would affect my IBS, I started going and doing what I wanted, I started enjoying a full and complete vegetarian diet, I stopped dwelling on IBS, I stopped labeling myself, "Hey look here, I am an IBS person", I stopped researching it, looking at the science behind it, I stopped trying all these different approaches, FODMAP/fructose and all the other approaches floating around on the internet, and guess what? I am totally well! I don't think much about it anymore... What I have come to know for a fact, is the more you focus and wrap your life around something, the more it expands in your life. IBS is no different. Redirect, redirect, redirect is all I can say. Michael Mahoney's voice is in my mind and it helps me to focus on what I want in my life, not what I don't want in my life. Now, you can slice it, dice it, dissect it any way you want, but the hypnosis tapes have allowed me to eat anything I choose, no exceptions. You will never know if they will or won't help an organic problem, unless you try. Don't go in from the beginning, thinking it won't work, because you might get a big surprise. I don't think anyone will every grasp the full depth of the mind, or the gut, for that matter. So, give hypnosis a try, and I mean a real, good try, and see where it leads you. And also~ I am completely well. I do not give IBS much of a thought anymore. It really is a non-issue for me. The key word here is "cavalier"... I occasionally post, [on support board forums] but certainly do not dwell here. If you do that, you will get a million different solutions from a million different people, especially where diet is concerned. There is nothing wrong with support sometimes, but I feel you really do have to find your own way. If I were you, I would stay away as much as possible, complete the tapes [CDs] again, after you take the break in between, and stay in contact with Marilyn if you have any questions. I would not post... [where] there are many nay-sayers..., who would influence how you feel about hypnosis. Yes, I was able to stay mostly away from the boards. I think what you focus on in your life expands, so if your attention is constantly on IBS, so that all you do is read, talk, or think about it, then that is exactly what you will experience. I think maybe a bit of physics here. As far as diet goes, well I can't answer that for you. I went for months on [an IBS] diet with no results. I finally realized, at least for me, diet was not the answer. That is not to say I eat junk, but I pretty much eat a healthy and varied diet. I just don't suffer like I used to, and I can only attribute that to hypnosis. And as far as the tapes go, I haven't needed to relisten to them, but I do pick one sometimes just for the relaxation of it all. I truly hope I have helped you, because that is the only reason I stop in. Be well!

  June 13, 2011 From A.J. in Atlanta, Georgia:

The IBS Audio Program has been phenomenal. Not only has it helped me with my symptoms but it has helped calm me down is all aspects of my life. I smile more, am not as tense, and am generally happier. I encourage people suffering from IBS who want to make a change to try this audio program.

From IBS Live Journal:

Purchase Michael Mahoney's IBS hypnotherapy program. More bang for your buck and it works. He also has an Anxiety program. With my experience, I don't spaz out anymore about my digestion. I did make some diet changes and do take medication for anxiety/panic (which was another issue) which also has the side effect of helping my digestive system (most of the body's neurotransmitters -serotonin, norepinephrine, etc-are in the digestive system--help those, help the whole system communicate better with the brain/body). So together with the hypnotherapy, I can calm my mind and stomach down, not overreact to the movements of my system. I used to freak out and think I was going to get sick and oh no, what is my system doing now and nerves just killed my stomach. But once I started doing the IBS Audio program, I got a grip on it. I didn't freak out about having to go in a public restroom. I stopped freaking out over any activity I could feel in my stomach. I stopped overreacting and reached a stable level with my digestion. His anxiety program is also quite awesome and even more in-depth. I listen to them during my lunch hour at work. It also has helped me out with that work stress.

April 17, 2011 From hsmomof6 on healthboards.com: There is a hypnotherapist in the UK who has done great work with IBS. His name is Michael Mahoney. You can see him in clinic or buy his program on CDs for in-home use.

March 2011, From not racing on coolsurfer:

I know how you feel and I am sorry you are suffering so much. I changed my diet and took medicine and nothing helped for years. I ended up finding the website below and I must say it really helped me. My IBS was also stress related so I actually bought the hypnosis tapes on this web site and it really helped with me with my IBS. I still stick to the diet and I also listen to the tapes by Dr. Michael Mahoney. My husband and daughters thought I was nuts, but I can now go to the show or mall without looking for a damn bathroom. They also believe it has helped me. Check the website out and make your own decision! Good Luck to you and your family!

  June 9, 2011 From Private Email from Stephanie Roberts in Australia:

 I'm at day 54 of the 100 day IBS programme, and have had few or no IBS symptoms for the past 3 weeks. I still can't believe it! The change is remarkable and life is so much better. Like many, I was sceptical at this approach but had tried everything else. This was a last resort. It's wonderful and I can't recommend it highly enough to anyone that cares to listen! Thank you so much. Stephanie, Australia

June 7, 2011 From Diana on HelpForIBS:

I found my emails to you from 1 year ago and wow, have things changed since then! I completed the hypnotherapy 100 day plan by Michael Mahoney and I honestly can say I'm 90% cured. I follow the IBS diet, make a few recipes from your book Eating for IBS, and take the Tummy Fiber every morning and sometimes back it up with Citrucel and Peppermint Oil Capsules if needed throughout the day. I can even eat some trigger foods in moderation with no problems at all! I don't know what I would do without you and that hypnotherapy program - you have both seriously changed my life. Absolutely use my comments. I was skeptical of hypnotherapy at first but I had to take the plunge. And I'm beyond thrilled I did. I'd be happy to speak with anyone who is having doubts as well. Thanks again, Diana

June 5, 2011 Update From Bermudakate on HelpForIBS:

..:...The best recommendation I can make is to try the IBS hypnosis on this site especially if you have very stress-related IBS issues, this can really be life-changing. I am on my second round of doing it right now, and definitely noticed a huge decrease in bloating and pain after I finished it the first time. (Stable IBS-A)

June 1, 2011 From steeler in Royal Oak, Michigan:

The IBS Audio program for the symptoms of Irritable Bowel Syndrome...(has) worked for me and helped me immensely. It also helped family members with migraines and anxiety.

May 1, 2011 From private email from R.T. from the UK:

I have used the IBS Audio 100 program for IBS related to my Ehlers Danlos Syndrome. This was fantastic and improved my many severe symptoms dramatically. Day to day life is essentially normal on that front, and I now can eat salads, drink coffee, etc. when I'd like to.I am currently using the Anxiety 120 for chronic anxiety which is also likely part of the EDS. I anticipate similar levels of success. When needed, I use the Insomnia mp3 and find it very effective.

April 18, 2011 From Bermudakate on Help For IBS:

 I know the success she has had with the IBS Audio Program, and I have as well. It is one of the main things that led to me being stable. I tend to get myself worked up very easily when I am stressed/worried, and a combination of moderate exercise, including yoga, the hypnosis, and the acacia fiber has made an enormous difference in my life. I don't know where i would be without it! oh wait, yes I do. I'd be on the toilet all day!

April 11, 2011 From Mulan on IBSGroup:

Hi, I can sympathise completely. I live in the UK and have had IBS for 6 years and find my symptoms difficult to control. My IBS is very psychological and is triggered mainly by stress. I have managed to get my diet under control. I understand that you are having therapy which is good as it will be an emotional support for you but have you also tried IBS specific hypnosis?

I got the CDs mail order and it's helped me a great deal with getting my breathing under control which was getting in the way of my IBS management. I know it sounds weird but check out "IBS Audio Program 100".

The CDs are designed by Michael Mahoney, a clinical hypnotherapist who specialises in IBS. It's very relaxing. The CDs are not cheap but it's worth it (www.healthyaudio.com). It'll help your brain to be less crowded as you have a lot going on at the moment and your mind seems crowded with thoughts. This may be making your IBS worse. Try to live in the present moment. I find it helps me a lot as life is stressful and there never seems to be a period when the stress ceases. I've also found that Buscopan tablets and non-coated peppermint tablets help a great deal. These are just the things I've tried as well as cutting dairy out of my diet as I'm lactose intolerant. I sure hope this helps you. I'm sorry if the medication I've mentioned in this message is not available in the States but maybe there will be something similar. I know Michael ships the CDs worldwide so you'll be able to get those if you pay for P&P. Good luck and stay strong.

April 5, 2011 From Hflyers10 on Amazon:

It Did Help - The IBS Audio Program 100Just like most people going into this I was skeptical but willing to try anything! I'm on day 80 and I feel so much better. Constant gas is gone and diarrhea is gone for the most part. Want to make this clear though... I'M NOT CURED, I'm just tolerating it much much better! These CD's helped me relax and take control of my stomach. I still take fiber along with Hyoscyamine ER 0.375 mg once a day. If nothing else has worked I recommend this product, I can finally enjoy eating without worry about a bathroom being around.

March 18, 2011 From HopeAndMoreHope on MedHelp.org:

 I BURPED REGULARLY FOR 16 MONTHS AND NOW IT'S GONE!!I burped very regularly for nearly 16 months, the doctors did all the usual tests to no avail. I tried all sorts of diets as it is probably related to my IBS, and tried all sorts of supplements, including a high pro-biotic (which may have helped). I keep certain foods out of my diet and this does help ie, wine (too acid) any carbonated drinks, caffeine (irritates the gut), fats (hard to digest) and although this was helping I was still burping. Don't have too large a meal, small meals more often are easier to digest. Sit and relax when you eat and don't BEND for at least 1/2 hour after, it increases the chances of it coming back up on you!! Try to eat slowly, chew well, all these tips can help a little... And don't eat before bed time, 3 hours before is preferable, although now I'm much improved, I find I can snack a little. The usual Gaviscon type meds just made it worse. NOW It's for the most part gone, as long as I'm still careful what I eat –

 But what I believe actually settled it down was a course of hypnotherapy cds, my Doctor had recommended I see a hypnotherapist in the field of hypnotherapy for IBS, the waiting list was long, so I researched it myself and found 'IBS Audio Program 100' on the internet, purchased it and I can honestly say this is the best £60 I ever spent. It isn't hypnosis like stage hypnosis, it's more you just relax listening to it or fall asleep (as i often do), but am assured that even when asleep your sub-conscious is always awake.

  It's all to do with the brain/gut reaction. It's not an instant cure, you are supposed to follow the program for 100 days, but after a week, I saw a dramatic reduction in the amount of time that I spent burping. If anyone else out there has this frustrating condition and the tests have all come back negative and it is IBS related, I would highly recommend these cds. They have been written by a guy called Michael Mahoney and he practiced in Cheshire England. If in doubt Google it and find out for yourself. I am now into day 39 of the programme, I either fall asleep at night time listening to the cds, (great for relaxing you at bed time if you have trouble) or put them on in the morning, before i get up, (so you can fit the 1/2 hour session into your life style some how) and I cant remember the last time I had a bad burping session. I feel normal again. Hope this helps.

February 25, 2011 From Katie K. in Arizona:

I have just completed the 100 day audio program for IBS and it was God sent. I have never felt so good in my life. I still have occasional gas and bloating at the end of the day, but all of my symptoms, the constipation, the pains and tightening of my intestine, the anxiety, and the depression have all lessened substantially. I have also been struggling with my weight ever since the IBS became a problem about 5 years ago. Since listening, I have lost a little bit of weight but not much, I try eating right and exercising, but I am just stuck. Since the IBS audio program worked so well I was looking into Hypnotherapy for weight loss, I came across some audio programs, but I liked Michael’s so much, and I trust him, is he ever going to come out with a hypnotherapy for weight loss?

February 22, 2011 From B Henry in Golden, CO:                                                                           

The program worked great for me and I no longer need it. 

February 14, 2011 From CMBickel from Sandy, Utah on HelpForIBS:

Please stay with the hypnosis tapes and Heathers eating suggestions. I've had IBS-D for 16 yrs. and after many Dr. office visits, tests, etc., Heathers eating suggestions plus the tapes have given me peace of mind and gut. Since listening to the tapes and watching what I eat, I have had only 3 "episodes" in 2 years! Wahoo!!!!

February 3, 2011 From ARO in New Jersey:

The IBS Audio Program 100...helped me to relax at bedtime and also calmed my IBS Symptoms. 

January 28, 2011 From private email from T.H. in Alabama:

Thank you so much.....you know I have never found anyone...not my family, not my friends....not doctors.....no one that has ever understood my condition....what you have said is exactly how it is.....it is good to know that someone else understands.....by the way, mine is IBS-C...I really appreciate you.....you are very nice and kind....and understanding. Thank you. T. H. 

  March 2, 2011 and January 24, 2011 From Dee in Iowa on ibsgroup.org:

I am back on the program again... If you have tried everything and nothing worked, like it did for me, please give this a try. I would encourage it. I went through the first time, and I am able to eat things I never could eat before; things like lettuce salad, celery, green veggies, peanut butter, and a vast of things. I am beginning to believe like he says on the tapes, food does not make you sick. Please give it a try. I would highly recommend it DeeDee

The IBS Audio Program 100 - What an awesome program! Hello everyone. I would like to 'promote' the Hypnotherapy IBS Audio Program 100 for those of you who are almost to the end of your rope like I was, and did not know what else to do. I have struggled with everything I possibly could do to help me with my IBS D. I was almost at the end of my rope and decided to try this hypnotherapy program. I did it for 90 days, and just finished it. It is absolutely awesome. The first couple weeks, I was hesitant, wondering if it was going to work, but with help from a wonderful mentor, I kept doing it, and I have found such a wonderful result. I find now I can eat foods which I have not been able to eat for years. I need to wait for four more weeks to start the program over, and can hardly wait for that time to come. I know I will feel much better each time I listen to it. I honestly would encourage anyone who is trying to find a solution to please try this out. I am so excited. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to find such a wonderful program. Have a wonderful day, DeeDee 

2010

January 6, 2010  From Shoreham, NY:

 As a former sufferer of IBS, I consider myself stable now after having followed this100-day program, even though I often fell asleep while listening to the hypnotherapy CDs.

If you or someone you know suffers with IBS, please take the time to visit this website, view results of the program, and read users' comments and reviews. This is a highly effective treatment for IBS with no risks or side-effects like conventional drugs.

January 2, 2010  From Bettybw53  on everydayhealth.com

www.everydayhealth.com/blogs/celiacsupport/accepting-ibs

To all that have IBS.... there IS a brain gut connection and there is something that can help you control it. I have been tremendously helped by Michael Mahoney "gut specific" hypnotherapeutic audio program. I am not associated in any way with this product except to say that it WORKS.

There are 4 CD's, 100 days of listening. It is magic how it works. Amazing. I started listening one year ago, for 100 days. I am so much better. I used to have to stop to go to the bathroom on the way to work, no more. I used to have gas and bloating, no more. I used to worry about long car trips, standing in line, where to go after eating out..... the list goes on ... you know. I now have the tools Michael Mahoney talks about and my mind takes over.... and I am better. Amazing. Betty